close up of an alarm clock at 2:00 while someone sleeps in the background

About us

Funding Agency

Canadian Institutes of Health Research
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Network Director

Julie Carrier, PhD

Leadership committee

Najib Ayas, Julie Carrier, Patrick Hanly, Indra Narang, John Peever, Sachin Pendharkar, Robert Skomro.


Fernanda Almeida, Najib Ayas, Nick Bansback, Célyne Bastien, Julie Carrier, Jean-Philippe Chaput, Penny Corkum, Kimberly Cote, Alex Desautels, John Fleetham, Stuart Fogel, Jean-François Gagnon, Nadia Gosselin, Reut Gruber, Patrick Hanly, Richard Horner, Nelly Huynh, Sherri Katz, Gilles Lavigne, Dominique Lorrain, Tami Martino, Jacques Montplaisir, Charles Morin, Indra Narang, Anil Nigam, John Peever, Sachin Pendharkar, Benjamin Rusak, Frédéric Séries, Robert Skomro, Robyn Strembler, Simon Warby, Shelly Weiss.

McGill UniversityUniversite LavalUniversite de MontrealThe University of British ColumbiaBrock UniversityUniversity of WaterlooUniversity of CalgaryUniversity of AlbertaUniversity of TorontoUniversity of OttawaSimon Fraser UniversityUniversity of GuelphConcordia UniversityUniversite de SherbrookeQueens UniversityDalhousie UniversityUniversite du Quebec a MontrealUniversity of Saskatchewan



Canadian Sleep Society
Consortium for early identification of Alzheimer Disease - Quebec
Fondation les Petits Tresors
Fond de Recherche du Quebec - Sante
Nova Scotia Health Research Fund
Philips Respironics
RANA Respiratory Care Group
The University of British Columbia
University of Calgary
University of Montreal
University of Ottawa
University of Saskatchewan
University of Toronto
Hopital du Sacre-Coeur de Montreal


International Scientific Advisory Committee

The International Scientific Advisory Committee (I-SAC) is composed of 5 sleep researchers who are experts in patient-centered research and community involvement:

The I-SAC will provide strategic advice on establishing priorities and developing a nation-wide agenda of outcome-oriented research based on successful models from other countries.

Stakeholder Alliance

The purpose of the Stakeholder Alliance is to provide valuable expertise regarding the four objectives of the CSCN:

The Stakeholder Alliance is composed of a single representative from a range of Canadian patient support groups, advocacy organizations, federal and provincial policy agencies, and private companies involved in the improvement of sleep disorders. The current members are (click on the names to go to their website):

Professional/Scientific groups

Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health

Canadian Association of Dental Research

Canadian Lung Association

Canadian Sleep Society

Canadian Thoracic Society

Kids Brain Health Network

Quebec Lung Association

Government agencies

CAMAQ (Quebec representatives of employers and workers in the aerospace sector)

Public Health Agency of Canada

SAAQ (Quebec automobile insurance society)

Private companies

Merck Canada

Natus Canada

Philips Canada

RANA Respiratory Care Group

Nox Medical


Fondation Sommeil

Wake Up Narcolepsy



Patient representatives sit on the various committees at all levels of the network structure. They are eight in total. Their roles are: